Happy Thanksgiving in a Bowl..Yeah I Know What Time of Year it is.

So after having a very long day and the weather still being cold and damp, and well basically crap; I wanted some comfort food.  I looked in my fridge for some inspiration.  Hmmm….let’s see. Carrots, celery, and onions…that sounds like a yummy start.  So I began sauteing them on the stove.  Hmmm…what else.  I had purchased some brown rice a few weeks ago and had yet to open the bag.  I started some on the stove.  So I let those cook for a bit.

 I then looked in the fridge again for something else to toss into the mixture.  I had half a can of peas and corn left over from the night before.  Why not?  After the rice and veggies were done I threw in the peas and corn and headed to the spice rack.  I grabbed some Thyme and Rosemary.  I tasted.  Holy kitchen sink, Batman!  This was delicious!  I gave it the ultimate taste test.  Zoe.  She looked at me, said “Mmmmm, Happy!”  It doesn’t get any better than that.

 

Directions:

brown rice-start one serving (1 cup) of brown rice  cooking

 

2 carrots roughly chopped

2 celery pieces de-stringed (made that word up!) and chopped

1/2 onion chopped

(get these on the stove and let them cook at medium heat)

After these are done cooking add in some more veggies or beans…I used corn and peas but you can mix it up.

Then I added 1 1/2 teaspoon of Thyme

1 1/2 teaspoon of Rosemary

and salt to taste

The seasonings are a bit heavy so go easy and taste as you add…I just like a lot of flavor.

Ta da!  Thanksgiving in a bowl.  Happy!

 

Leave a comment