Manna Meatloaf…Straight from Heaven

I like the taste of meat.  There.  I said it.  I still crave hamburgers and fried chicken and pot roast from a crock pot.  When I do crave the texture and taste of real meat, all I have to do is to think of the suffering that brief moment of culinary delight will cause on an innocent animal.  An animal that had a life before my stomach rumbled.  This thought keeps the desire to eat the craved food averted and, to date, my moral compass still pointing in the correct direction.   My ever so lovely mother bought me a copy of Skinny Bitch in the Kitch and  I saw a recipe in the book for meatloaf.  Meat substitutes are funny creatures and are either wonderful (GARDEIN) or scary.  They suggested to use Gimme Lean vegan ground beef, which my Kroger just happened to carry.  I went home and whipped up a yummy meatloaf  and it has impressed everyone who has eaten it….well, that’s technically just me and my boss, but some of the people I’ve offered it to just have no sense of adventure. 

 

Meatloaf  Like Granny Makes

Preheat oven to 375

  • 1 Package of Gimme Lean (Vegan Ground Beef)
  • 1/2 Sweet Onion Chopped
  • 2 Slices of Hearty Bread (I used Ezekiel)
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Bell Pepper
  • 3 TB of Plain Vegan Milk
  • 3 TB of Olive Oil
  • 2 TB of Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 TB of Braggs Liquid Amino or Soy Sauce
  • 2 tsp of Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • Dash of Chili Powder
  • Dash of Liquid Smoke
  • Ketchup for Topping

 

Mix all ingredients by hand until thoroughly combined.  Place into a greased casserole dish (9×9).  Spread a generous portion of ketchup over the entire top.  Bake for 45 minutes uncovered.  Check at half way point and if the ketchup begins to look overcooked then place lid on dish to prevent burning.  When a non vegan walks into your kitchen and says “Mmmm, are you cooking meatloaf?”  then you know it’s gotta be good!  Serve with some of yesterday’s potato salad and you have a meal fit for a king.  Or at least a really good friend.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rick Hood on August 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I’m a true meat eater but I love this meat(less)loaf.

    Reply

  2. Posted by brandie on September 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I will definitely be making this recipe as it was so yum! So much better than my 1 stab at lentil loaf. :/

    Reply

Leave a comment