Vegan Potato Salad Delish Dish

To the 3 faithful followers that we have I do apologize for the long absence.  Emily has been touring around the US and Canada with PETA2 on the Warped Tour, and I have been  a very lazy junk food vegan.  This is a trap, that I hear, many people get stuck in after becoming newly vegan.  After reading Skinny Bitch, and watching Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead , I decided that simply abstaining from animal flesh and their secretions was not enough.  This is not a “diet” in which to lose weight, it is a lifestyle choice to create peace and love in all that we do.  We do not need to cause suffering through our food choices. And for that reason I need to begin to focus on creating foods that I can eat for the rest of my life.  Foods that can offer comfort and satisfaction, and still maintain my life’s philosophies, all the while adding to my health instead of subtracting from it.   Thus like a phoenix from the ashes arose this new found desire to create healthy vegan dishes!!  Okay, that last bit may have went a little overboard.  Here is some yummy tater salad that isn’t too bad for you.

Vegan Potato Salad   

3 Large Baking Potatoes

2-3 TB of  Nutritional Yeast (AKA food of the Gods)

1/2 Cup of Vegan Mayo

1/4-1/2 Cup of Chopped Onions

1/4 C Vegan Bac-o’s Bacon Flavor Bits

S&P to taste

Cut potatoes in to small chunks and add to a pot of boiling water.  Boil until the potatoes are tender but not mushy.  Rinse in a colander under cold running water for a few minutes to cool the potatoes down.   Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.  Enjoy, and share with a friend!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by jenny on August 15, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    This is what I had for lunch and it was very very good! Loved it!

    Reply

Leave a comment