Cheap Eats and Tricking the Kids

I received an email from my cousin that made my day.  I am going to share it and I really hope that it doesn’t embarrass her! 

I saw your blog on facebook before and thought it was really cool how you and Emily are doing this. So glad you don’t judge and still love all the meat lovers out there. 😉 But I have been considering giving up red meat. Problem is it’s about the cheapest thing you can feed your family on a budget and my little guy loves his spaghetti with meat sauce. Where did you find those meat crumbles at in your manwich recipe? Keep doing what you’re doing. I love it when people have the courage to share what they believe and want to make a difference.

Well, as many of you know, eating a vegetarian diet is MUCH less expensive than eating meat.  We have been conditioned to think that we must have meat with every meal.  You can get protein from so many sources without consuming meat and as a benefit you also won’t get all of that cholesterol. (Cholesterol is only found in animal products)  Start thinking outside the box and think about ways to change up your current favorite meals, or heck; try new meals!!  When was the last time you changed up what you prepare for dinner?  As far as prices go, beef is about 4.oo/lb.  Beans are about 1.50/lb, and less if you buy them dried and in bulk.  Look on the BOTTOM shelves at the grocery.  You will find the bagged beans and brown rice there.  The white rice is in a bright orange box at eye level but the healthy stuff is practically in the floor.  Maybe if it were in the floor we would trip on it and be more likely to buy it.  Keep in mind companies pay big bucks for prime real estate at the grocery, and that is where you lose the majority of your money…even with coupons.  Here are some great kid friendly meal ideas!

** Meat crumbles are found in the frozen foods section, usually with other vegetarian meal items.  Sometimes they are with the frozen breakfast items.  Please keep in mind that the vegetarian frozen convenience foods tend to be a bit pricey and you can make your own versions for a fraction of the cost.  A healthy vegetarian/vegan diet is one that is based on whole foods!

Ideas For Kid Friendly Meals

*Vegetarian not necessarily Vegan, but feel free to leave out dairy/eggs

for an even cheaper and healthier meal!!

As with ALL meals…if you don’t like something leave it out.  These are meant as ideas and guides ONLY.  Experiment.  Get your kids to try new things.  They will thank you for it when they are 40, at a healthy weight, and have great blood pressure and cholesterol!  And thanks for the emails and comments.  I was really starting to wonder if anyone was reading!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Fantastic ideas. I’ve found that since cutting meat out of the diet, I can afford to buy lots more organic produce! Also, I always buy quinoa pasta. Yes, it’s a bit more expensive, but it’s so much better for you (plus, since I’m not buying meat, I can afford it). A book I highly recommend is Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious. I don’t normally have to hide the veggies from Marley, but it gives some great ideas if you have to. I like to make the purees from time to time to add to spaghetti sauce and other things. I’ll just make one huge batch on the weekend and freeze it in 1/2 cup portions.

    Reply

  2. That’s a great point about organic produce! I just watched Food, Inc. and it really opened my eyes about how much of our food is genetically modified! SO scary!! We really have no idea how bad our diets are until we start learning about what we eat. I have been on a junk food diet for years and feel like I am truly having my eyes opened by learning where my food comes from. It is so enlightening and empowering. And I totally did a cheese taste test over the weekend!! I’ll post about it tomorrow!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brandie on May 23, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Great blog! Another idea that I stumbled on is placing raw chunks of cauliflower in the food processor. It is really crumbly. I saute it to get it a little brown and use it as the “beef” in my chili! It is awesome. No one would know unless you told them 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment